Japanese Anenome Linocut in Progress

I have been working on my Japanese Anenome Linocut, 3 colours down and 2 more to go. This is a reduction linocut, which means after I have printed a colour, I remove more material from the lino block to print the next colour.

The design has changed a bit as I’ve been cutting and printing the block in reaction to the colours I can produce with the inks I have.

I have been using strips of mountboard glued to a plastic sheet to register the lino block with the paper. The registration has been excellent, but the strips of mountboard have embossed their shape on the paper print. Once I have a final edition of prints I will window-mount them so that the unwanted embossed effect is hidden.

(© Catherine Cronin)

 

3 thoughts on “Japanese Anenome Linocut in Progress

Leave a Reply

