Cardoon Seedheads – Colour & Form Exploration Part 2

I’m working my way towards a linocut print of Cardoon Seedheads. Early drawings blogged here and my first exploration of colour and form in this subject blogged here. I finalised the seedhead forms but wanted to explore the background a bit more. I created different backgounds using gouache paint and then arranged roughly made cut-out seedhead forms on top of each one to see which I preferred. Using cut-outs was a great way to avoid repeatedly drawing and painting the same seedheads for each background. I’m leaning towards a mixture of backgrounds 2 and 3 as seen in the images below – I just need to paint it up. Putting it on the to-do list.

CardoonCollage1CCroninweb CardoonCollage2CCroninweb CardoonCollage3CCroninweb

(© Catherine Cronin)

2 thoughts on “Cardoon Seedheads – Colour & Form Exploration Part 2

Leave a Reply

