Weekly Sketch – Physalis – 17/10/2015

I love Physalis; such pleasure to open the papery lantern shaped husks, revealing a bright orange sun bursting with juice and sweetness. I like the very quick pencil sketch I made of this fruit below. A coloured image grew in my mind that would showcase the brightest orange of this fruit, however my attempt in watercolour and oil pastel was not a success. But mistakes and failures are the steps that have to be taken towards resolving an image. More work to be done here.

PhysalisSketch_web

Physalis_web

 

(© Catherine Cronin)

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Sketch – Physalis – 17/10/2015

  1. This sketch reminds us to always post our mistakes online. What is a mistake to you is a lively and interesting sketch to me. I was immediately captured by the mix of oil pastel and watercolour and the resulting textures.

Leave a Reply

