Printing the edition ‘Marigold’ Multi-block Linocut 2015

Just thought I’d share with you some photographs of the process of printing the edition ‘Marigold’ linocut.

As it was a multi-block print I needed a way to register the blocks against the paper. I used a sheet of acetate marked up on the reverse with marker pen, showing the bottom right corner of where the lino block should be placed and where the bottom right corner of the paper should be placed. Acetate can be wiped easily of any ink that may stray onto it.

When printing I used bits of scrap paper to place on any areas of the lino that had accidently picked up ink that I didn’t want to print (I wanted a clean white paper background).

I used water based inks: Caligo Safewash Relief and Schmincke Aqua Linoldruck ink.

I printed using a hand-press onto dry Zerkall Hand-Made Printing Paper 210gsm.

(© Catherine Cronin)

6 thoughts on “Printing the edition ‘Marigold’ Multi-block Linocut 2015

  1. The prints look fantastic. The black layer really makes those bright colours pop. Thanks for sharing that registration tip. I’ve been looking for a method that might work for me and that I think would work. I’ve been avoiding multi block prints until I figured out a method that would work so now I can start thinking about block printing again.

    • Thanks so much for your compliment! I’m really glad that my registration tip might work for you. Another method I saw recently online for very accurate registration was to glue strips of mount board to a board ; the strips of mount board would be like the lines I drew on the acetate for plate and paper place markers. It means that you butt your paper and plate against the mount board markers which ensures there is no slipping. I’ve yet to try this method, I will post about it when I do. Best of luck with your multi-block prints.

      • Thanks. I will look forward to your post about trying that method. My time for carving blocks has been limited for months but I hope to get back into it soon.

  2. Oh, I love seeing the whole process, thank you so much for sharing these photos 🙂 I’m going to start printing again very soon (I have issues with tidiness: so many art-making materials, so little space!) and seeing your work is very inspiring 🙂
    I just don’t do red and yellow (personal likes, etc) but I would love to see a version of this in muted tones of grey 🙂 but also, your press is fascinating! Is it hand-made? Where did you get it? Is it expensive? (that’s always the tricky question for me, sorry, 🙂
    Anyway, thank you again for sharing – love your blog and your work 🙂

Leave a Reply

