Weekly Sketch – Japanese Anenome – 06/16/2015

I am working on a new design for a linocut print of a japanese anenome flower. I love growing colourful flowers on my balcony; I am fascinated by the variety of form, function and colours; the change from bud to bloom to seedhead. I am working towards doing a series of flower prints. I am cutting the lino currently for the first design I did for ‘Marigold’, which has set the tone to start the series, bold and graphic. I might try a few more variations before settling on the final design for the japanese anenome, but I am liking the bottom right image the best.

AnenomesDesignsCCroninweb

(© Catherine Cronin)

 

12 thoughts on “Weekly Sketch – Japanese Anenome – 06/16/2015

  1. Thanks deadmachinery! I did like that one too, but I really wanted the color change in the middle not to be enclosed in a black line – see the bottom right image. I am going to make another version somewhere between the two – giving some of the detail back. It’s interesting how minor changes can really affect the feeling of the whole image and the viewer’s interpretation of it.

  2. Pingback: Japanese Anenome Linocut – First Cut | Cat Among the Pigeons Press

Leave a Reply

