Weekly Sketch – Garden at the Alcazaba of Málaga 3 – 23/04/2015

A very different image of the garden at the Alcazaba of Málaga as compared to the previous weeks’ watercolour renditions; this one is a very considered line drawing in fountain pen on textured watercolour paper, inspired by Edward Bawden’s graphic work. I didn’t do an under-drawing, so I knew any mistakes would have to stay. Overall I am pleased with the image, I like the different mark making to describe texture and shape; I especially like the hedged rose beds and the tree forms, however I think the wall at the back is a bit weak – it looks more like a fence! In hindsight I should have continued the brick forms seen in the wall on the right. Oh well, it’s always a learning curve this game we play called making.

MalagaGarden3web

MalagaGardenCU3web

 

 

(© Catherine Cronin)

Leave a Reply

