Weekly Sketch – Wall Gate at Alcazaba of Málaga Part 2 – 20/03/2015

Last week my weekly sketch was a view of a wall gate at the Alcazaba of Málaga in pen. Pen is my favourite medium to draw in; and one I am most comfortable with; but I like to challenge myself because I can find out new ways of portraying things. So I have redrawn the image last week again in pen but leaving a lot of white space; and then in coloured pencil and watercolour. As you can see they are not the most impressive of images! but within them there are colours, textures and forms I like, that could all be drawn together within print form. I have included the sketch from last week too so you can see the process of making.

 

 

 

(© Catherine Cronin)

4 thoughts on “Weekly Sketch – Wall Gate at Alcazaba of Málaga Part 2 – 20/03/2015

  1. There’s an interesting contrast in the colored images. They seem so bright and cheery but then there’s a gate with black bars and sharp points that seems a little intimidating. I like seeing the same scene in different mediums. 🙂

    • Thanks cavepainter; it’s always interesting and often surprising to find out what people find in images you make, I never thought of the gate being intimidating in the coloured images – but I see what you mean, that gate lower right is very ‘spiky’!

Leave a Reply

