And One I Missed; Gert & Uwe Tobias Exhibition

Sometimes too much choice can be a bad thing; it can paralyze you and then the opportunity is missed. Living in London I am so lucky with the variety of art exhibitions available at any given time; so many. I make a mental note to go to this one and that one and oh, don’t forget that other one; and before I know it they have closed. Ah thankfully there is the worldwide web, I can experience partially what I have missed. One that got away was Gert & Uwe Tobias at The Whitechapel Gallery.

My particular interest is in their collaborative woodcuts and collage pieces; often on quite a large scale for a woodcut. Their image making is vibrant, bold, thought-provoking, and sometimes refuses to be pinned-down. They flow though figurative to abstract in one piece, yet the image as a whole retains a strong identity.

Below an interveiw introducing the exhibition of Gert and Uwe Tobias; and some of my favourites from their work.

Video – Introduction to Gert & Uwe Tobias

© Gert & Uwe Tobias Untitled 2012; Whitechapel Gallery

© Gert & Uwe Tobias Untitled 2012, Whitechapel Gallery

© Gert & Uwe Tobias

© Gert & Uwe Tobias

2 thoughts on “And One I Missed; Gert & Uwe Tobias Exhibition

Leave a Reply

