2 Year WordPress Anniversary – Alhambra V

When I logged on to WordPress today I got an alert from WordPress saying ‘Happy Anniversary! You registered on WordPress.com 2 years ago! Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!’, which was lovely to receive. WordPress is a great blogging space and a fantastic community, I am very glad that I chose WordPress.

The ‘Happy Anniversary’ alert was also surprisingly apt considering what I am about to post. The very first topic I blogged about was linocuting and printing images based on my visit to the Alhambra Palace in Granada: I see Alhambra – Printing the lino – Part 4. The first print was an image based on a mosaic which contained a star symbol with Arabic text. Please see image below. I never editioned this print as I wasn’t satisfied with it just printed in black.

Alhambra Tile

Alhambra Tile

Only last week did I dig out this lino and try again; I printed it in gold ink and then washed black ink over the image. I like combining oil based ink and water based ink because the oil based ink sits slightly on the paper surface; whereas the water based ink sinks into the paper. Also the wash of black ink over the gold does leave black ink particles to dry on the gold which dulled it slightly; and also made it look old, like the original mosaic tile which was worn away in places. I am happy with the result.

Alhambra-VCCronin

(© Catherine Cronin)

Leave a Reply

