And Now For Something Completely Different – Making Christmas Clay Decorations – Stage 2

Every Christmas I do enjoy a bit of homemade making of Christmas Decorations; in recent years I have been making 3D, flat, and sewn paper decorations. This year I thought I’d try my hand at some ceramic hanging decorations. In the first stage I cut out the designs from clay. So here is the second stage: I used acrylic paint to decorate the dry clay shapes. I built up the depth of colour in 2 to 3 layers of paint. I made different coloured sets: blue-silver; red-gold; red-green; silver-white; yellow-green; and blue-orange; as I want to give the sets away as gifts. I varnished them with acrylic gloss medium. Once they were completely dry I strung them on different types of decorative string. I used sewing needles to push through stubborn threads. I am thinking about making bespoke boxes to put the sets of decorations in; I need to experiment a bit first; so the final stage will be about making the packaging.

(Photographs © Catherine Cronin)

3 thoughts on “And Now For Something Completely Different – Making Christmas Clay Decorations – Stage 2

  1. Pingback: And Now For Something Completely Different – Making Christmas Clay Decorations – Stage 3 | Cat Among the Pigeons Press

Leave a Reply

