Weekly Sketch – ‘The Don II’ cactus – 06/10/2012

In my Weekly Sketch posts I will share the good and bad scribbles that I undertake…

I am not doing very well keeping up with my weekly sketch, sometimes life just takes you away from the things you would rather be doing. Anyway, after sketching my new cactus ‘The Don’ and being dissatisfied, I thought I’d give it another go. I am a bit happier about this drawing but it still isn’t quite there for me.

I used pen, felt-tip pens, watercolour sticks wet and dry, and a little graphite pencil. I like this better than the first sketch as there is more definition of form on the cactus.

(All work & images © Catherine Cronin)

6 thoughts on “Weekly Sketch – ‘The Don II’ cactus – 06/10/2012

  1. Woo! We absolutely love this! Somewhere in our piles of ‘inspiration’ we have pictures of an article on early 1960’s kitchens and this has a similar feel. Cant wait for the next weekly sketch…

    • Ah thanks for the nice comment. Isn’t it funny how if you collect things in a pile you do remember them even before you try and find them – but if you don’t physically collect them, they are more forgetable. That is my excuse for collecting lots of images anyway!

      • Our biggest regrets are when we have thrown an image away that we then want to use. We now ‘edit’ as we cut things out…………do we really really really want to keep this image? Our latest thing has been to take all the images down from our workspace and just have one we really concentrate on.

      • Yes it is hard to keep a balance when collecting images; too many can mean you never look at them again. I tend to edit down my collection every couple of years. I too like you change the images around me as I change focus, that definitely helps to keep things fresh.

Leave a Reply

