Spray Vessell – Ceramics

Another pot inspired by my weekend walks in the Lea Valley. One aspect of the walks that I find really interesting is the urban structures in the midst of so much greenery. These structures are isolated in the green and so stand out for me; I notice them here when I wouldn’t give them a second glance if they were in the middle of the concrete and asphalt city. This oval pot is based on concrete retaining walls of a path that swirls under a bridge. The walls retain earth where wild plants grow casting intricate shadows across the concrete surface. Inevitably the white walls have repeatedly attracted graffiti which in turn has been whitewashed, forming subtle layers of off-white interrupted by marks in garish spray paint colours. I am making a series of pots that tell the story of my walks in the valley, please browse my blog for more.

(All images and works under copyright © Catherine Cronin)

Leave a Reply

